Speakers in alphabethical order » Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal

Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal

President, FGV Foundation

Professor Carlos Ivan Simonsen Leal is President of the Getulio Vargas Foundation since August 2000. In 1980, he graduated in Civil Engineering from the Engineering School of the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ), but opted for an academic life and graduated in Mathematical Economics from the “Instituto de Matemática Pura e Aplicada”, in 1982. Doctor degree at the “Escola de Pós Graduação em Economia” – EPGE of Getulio Vargas Foundation (1980-1982) and obtained the title of Doctor in Economics from Princeton University (USA) in 1986.

He began his activities as a professor at the “Escola de Pós Graduação em Economia” – EPGE of Getulio Vargas Foundation in 1986, where he administered the following disciplines: Macroeconomics, Microeconomics, Public Finance and Finance. At FGV, he held the following positions: director of FGV Business, 1992-4; general director of EPGE, 1994-7; and vice-president of FGV, 1997-2000. Today he is the president of FGV, a post he has held since 2000. He was awarded, in 2002, with the title of “Grão Cruz da Ordem Nacional do Mérito Científico” (Grão Cruz of the National Order of Scientific Merit), awarded by the President of the Republic, for his contributions to Science and Technology. Professor Simonsen Leal was granted with the Palmes Académiques by the Republic of France through its Prime Minister’s Decree in October 2008 and has been decorated with the Order of Naval Merit by the Brazilian Naval Service (Class of Support Commander), the Medal of the Peacemaker by the Brazilian Army and the Tamandare Merit Medal by Brazil Navy. He is Member of the National Academy of Engineering. Awarded in 2014 with the title of Eminent Engineer by the Polytechnic School. IBGE Medal of Statistical Merit “Mário Augusto Teixeira de Freitas” (2016). Medal of the Brazilian Army (2017). Awarded with the title of “Honorary Hydrographer” granted by the Brazilian Navy (2017). Awarded with the Order of Military Merit granted by the Brazilian Army (2018).


We use both our own and third-party cookies to enhance our services and to offer you the content that most suits your preferences by analysing your browsing habits. Your continued use of the site means that you accept these cookies. You may change your settings and obtain more information here. Accept